

MEETING:	Annual Council		
DATE:	Wednesday 17 May 2017		
SUBJECT:	Application of political balance rules to the allocation of seats on Council bodies		
REPORT OF:	Senior Local Democracy Officer		
<u>Purpose</u> :	To bring before the annual meeting information governing the allocation of seats for the 2017/18 Council year in order that proposals and nominations can be put before the annual meeting of the Council.		
<u>Contact</u> :	David Robinson, Senior Local Democracy Officer. Telephone 01323 415022 or internally on extension 5022.		
Recommendations:	To agree the seat allocations set out in this report.		

1. <u>Introduction</u>

1.1 Whole council elections were last held on 7 May 2015. Since then one change has occurred. In January 2017 one member of the Conservative group resigned and now sits as an Independent Conservative. The total number of councillors used in the calculation of committee seat numbers is 27 and the break down of seats between the two recognised groups is 18 Liberal Democrats and 8 Conservatives. The seat allocations are set out below.

2. <u>Current Structure</u>

2.1 This paper is based on the current structure, however the Council's current constitutional arrangements allow for either a 7 or an 8 member Scrutiny Committee. An 8 seat option was chosen in 2015/16. This paper assumes the continuation of the 8 seat option. Similarly, the size of the 2 Licensing Committees may be between 10 and 15. This paper assumes that membership of these committees will be 13 for 2017/18 (as in previous years). Leaders have submitted nominations on this basis.

2.2 Base percentages:-

No. of Councillors: 27	%
Liberal Democrats 18	66.66
Conservatives 8	29.63
Independent Conservative 1	3.70

2.3 **Committees**. The allocation of seats in accordance with the rules is as follows:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Controlling Group	Opposition Group
Planning	8	5	3
General	13	9	4
Licensing			
Audit and	8	5	3
Governance			
Totals:	29	19	10

Note: Committee seats are allocated to groups. An independent councillor is not a group. A minimum of 2 councillors are required to form a group under the rules.

2.4 **Scrutiny Committee**. This committee is not listed above as although the political balance rules apply the calculation and allocation of seats is required to be done separately. The reason for this has to do with the legislation under which "Scrutiny and Overview" committees are constituted. Although there is provision for an 8 seat committee, the practice before 2015/16 had been to have 7 members. Given the change in political proportions following the 2015 elections the 8 seat option was chosen. The proposed allocation of seats in accordance with the rules is therefore as follows for the 2 options:-

No. of Seats	Controlling Group	Opposition
7	5	2
8	5	3

- 2.5 **Licensing Act Committee**. This committee is not listed above as the political balance rules do not apply. It is however politically balanced as a matter of local discretion. See the paragraph below as to committee membership numbers.
- 2.6 **General Licensing Committee and Licensing Act Committee.** The law requires there to be not less than 10 members and not more than 15 members of a Licensing Act Committee. The Council has previously agreed that the membership of both the Licensing Committees should be the same and that the same member should

chair both committees. There is some benefit in being able to select members for sub-committees from as wide a pool as possible. The nominations made last year were for a 13 member committee. 5 members are appointed as chairs of Licensing sub-committees.

2.9 Advisory Bodies

Body	No. of Seats	Controlling Group	Opposition
Conservation Area Advisory Group	4 (or 3)	2	2 (or 1)
Downland Forum	3 (or 4)	2 (or 3)	1

In 2016/17 the Conservation Area Advisory Group had 4 members. Past Council practice has been to allow the opposition an equality of seats.

In 2016/17 the Downland Forum had 3 members and nominations have been made on the basis that this continues.

2.10 **Other Task Groups and Boards.** So far as is possible, groups are recommended to retain existing membership so as to maintain continuity and allow members to continue or complete work already begun.

David Robinson Senior Local Democracy Officer

9 May 2017